Wednesday, Sep 22, 2021, 15:37 iOS: Software

More Free iCloud Storage for Data Transfer: Apple Delivers on WWDC Promise

Apple is known to be quite stingy when it comes to free storage space in iCloud. The company gives just five gigabytes to every Apple ID owner without charge. If you want more, you have to get a subscription and pay monthly or annually. Competitors such as Google are more generous in this respect, with the search engine giant providing 15 gigabytes free of charge.

Free iCloud storage is in short supply.
Since many iPhone and iPad owners use Apple's cloud service to back up their devices, this free storage is very scarce. This is particularly annoying if you purchase a new smartphone or tablet from Cupertino, which is supposed to take over data and settings using an iCloud backup of the predecessor. In this case, if the space requirement exceeds the free quota on Apple's servers, the user only has three options: He increases the storage and pays a surcharge at least for some time, backs up the data of the previous iPhone to Mac or PC, or uses the device-to-device migration.

Automatic free expansion for data transfer
Apple is aware of this problem and showed some insight months ago. At the World Wide Developers Conference (WWDC) in June of this year, the company announced it would provide a "bonus" for transferring data between a newly acquired iDevice and an existing one. In these cases, the free iCloud storage can be expanded at no additional cost. Parallel to the release of iOS 15 and iPadOS 15, Apple has now made good on this promise. If you select the option "Transfer/Reset device" in the system settings on the iPhone you have been using up to now, iOS 15 indicates insufficient iCloud storage space and automatically increases it.

advertising


advertising


Three weeks time for data transfer.
Of course, the expanded quota is not available indefinitely. After three weeks, Apple reduces the free storage space back to the standard size of five gigabytes without the user's intervention and also deletes the backup seven days later. However, this period can be extended once for another 21 days. This means that a maximum of 42 days is available to transfer all data and settings from the old iPhone to the new device.

More mtech.news articles you might enjoy to read: