Thursday, Nov 11, 2021, 09:53 Mac: Software

iOS 15 & macOS Monterey: SharePlay – How To Share Screen Content On FaceTime

SharePlay has been available on iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV since iOS 15.1, iPadOS 15.1, and tvOS 15.1. Mac users, however, will have to wait a little longer until they can use the feature to share films, music, and desktop content on their notebooks via FaceTime. The feature is more than likely to make its debut in macOS Monterey 12.1 in a few weeks.

SharePlay Available In Current Mac Beta
Users of the current beta version of macOS Monterey have been able to use SharePlay, announced at this year's WWDC, for over a week now. MacRumors has taken a closer look at and tested out the new feature extensively, with a special interest in screen sharing. The latter feature is especially useful in the modern world of the home-office, especially for sharing work with colleagues or providing technical support from far away.

advertising


advertising



Source: MacRumors


Sharing Screen Content Is Easy
The first step to sharing content via SharePlay over FaceTime – there has to be an active FaceTime call. This is done as usual, simply open FaceTime and then choose a contact to call click or click on a contact in the "Contacts" app and then click the "Video" icon, amongst a number of other ways. When there's a connection available, then there are only two steps left to share either a window from an application/the desktop or even the entire screen.

  • 1: Click on the SharePlay icon, you'll find it on the right next to the camera icon in FaceTime's control overlay.
  • 2: A FaceTime drop-down menu will be created. In the drop-down menu, you'll be provided with the options "Window" and "Screen". Clicking on "Window" will allow you to select a specific window to share, whereas the "Screen" option will simply share the entire desktop and any windows or items on it.


Always Possible To Change Shared Content
The choice, which content to share, can easily be changed at any time via the same drop-down menu. Additionally, you can also stop SharePlay at any given moment via the same menu. If only one window is shared, a SharePlay button is added to the window's menu bar enabling the ability to stop sharing and choose other windows to share or even to switch to sharing the entire display.

More mtech.news articles you might enjoy to read: